MLB’s newest plan involves realigning the league to three divisions of 10 teams

According to USA Today, MLB is chugging along with a plan that would get the season rolling in June, see teams playing in their home ballparks, and involve a realignment to three divisions with 10 teams. OK!

The three new divisions would basically become from shoving the two leagues together into three 10-team divisions. The only change is that the Pirates, a Central Division team, end up in the East and the Braves, an East Division team, end up in the Central.

New York Yankees, New York Mets, Boston Red Sox, Washington Nationals, Baltimore Orioles, Philadelphia Phillies, Pittsburgh Pirates, Toronto Blue Jays, Tampa Bay Rays, Miami Marlins


Los Angeles Dodgers and Angels, San Francisco Giants, Oakland Athletics, San Diego Padres, Arizona Diamondbacks, Colorado Rockies, Texas Rangers, Houston Astros, Seattle Mariners


Chicago Cubs, Chicago White Sox, Milwaukee Brewers, St. Louis Cardinals, Kansas City Royals, Cincinnati Reds, Cleveland Indians, Minnesota Twins, Atlanta Braves, Detroit Tigers

This plan would also reportedly kill the American and National Leagues for the year, so teams would, presumably, just play the other nine teams that are close to them geographically. The odd thing would be how the playoffs would go down. You have an odd …

Read More

Author: Cam Lewis / Blue Jays Nation

Recommended Posts