Cito Gaston is apparently among the possible candidates to be considered for the Hall of Fame by the Era Committee this year

A former Blue Jay was elected into the Hall of Fame this year by the Era Committee. Might we see another one make it in next time around?

According to Jon Morosi, long-time Blue Jay manager Cito Gaston is among the possible candidates for the next Baseball Hall of Fame Era Committee vote in December…

Jim Leyland, Cito Gaston and Brian Sabean are among the possible candidates for the next @baseballhall era committee vote in December 2023.
I’ll examine their candidacies coming up at 10:30 am ET on @MLBNetwork. Please join us! @Tigers @BlueJays @SFGiants @Yankees
— Jon Morosi (@jonmorosi) January 27, 2023

The Era Committee, which is also known as the Veterans Committee, is how player get voted into the Hall of Fame if they didn’t make it during their 10-year eligibility on the BBWAA ballot after they retired. It’s also a way for managers, umpires, and other members of the game who aren’t a part of the BBWAA voting can get in as well.
Much like the standard Hall of Fame vote, there are 16 members on the Era Committee and a person needs 75 percent of the votes among that committee to be elected into Cooperstown.
This year’s panel was comprised of Hall of Fame members Greg Maddux, Jack Morris, Ryne Sandberg, Lee Smith, Frank Thomas and Alan Trammell, Major League executives Paul Beeston, Theo Epstein, Derrick Hall, Arte Moreno, Kim Ng, Dave St. Peter, and Ken Williams, along with veteran media members Steve Hirdt, LaVelle Neal and Susan Slusser. Fred McGriff was elected with 16 of 16 votes, while Don Mattingly, Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, and a handful of others didn’t make the cut.

Cito Gaston’s career…
Gaston signed with the Milwaukee Braves as an amateur free agent in 1964 and made his big-league debut with the t …

Read More

Author: Cam Lewis / Blue Jays Nation

Former Blue Jay Scott Rolen has been elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame

Cooperstown will be welcoming two Blue Jays to the Hall of Fame this year.

The Veterans Committee voted Fred McGriff into the Hall earlier this winter and now Scott Rolen has been voted in by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America. Rolen received 76.3 percent of votes, narrowly getting over the 75 percent needed to be elected…

Rolen: 76.3Helton: 72.2Wagner: 68.1Jones: 58.1Sheffield: 55Beltran: 46.5Kent: 46.5A-Rod: 35.7Manny: 33.2Vizquel: 19.5Pettitte: 17Abreu: 15.4Rollins: 12.9Buehrle: 10.8K-Rod: 10.8Hunter: 6.9
— Ryan Thibodaux (@NotMrTibbs) January 24, 2023

Rolen, an eight-time Gold Glove winner and seven-time All-Star, obviously isn’t at all remembered for his brief stint in Toronto, which came late in his career.
He came up with the Philadelphia Phillies in the mid-90s and won the National League Rookie of the Year in 1997. After seven seasons with the Phillies, he was dealt to the St. Louis Cardinals, where he’d spend six seasons and win the 2006 World Series.
In January of 2008, the Blue Jays acquired Rolen from the Cardinals in exchange for Troy Glaus. Over a season-and-a-half in Toronto, Rolen slashed a .288/.358/.452 line with 19 home runs while playing excellent defence at the hot corner. With the Blue Jays firmly out of contention in July of 2009, he was moved to the Cincinnati Reds in exchange for Edwin Encarnacion, Josh Roenicke, and Zach Stewart.
Rolen is a prime example of how baseball’s perception of player value has changed over the years. In his first go-around on the ballot back in 2018, Rolen received just 10.8 percent of votes and was nowhere near being elected to the Hall of Fame. But over the past few years, the sabermetrics community has pushed hard in favour of Rolen, who put up a 70.1 bWAR over his career in the big leagues.
Elsew …

Read More

Author: Cam Lewis / Blue Jays Nation