The crew chief’s explanation on why Yimi Garcia was booted from Tuesday’s game makes no sense

We’ve seen our fair share of bad umpiring this season, such as the absurd strike zone against the Oakland A’s and the missed tag call last week against the Yankees, but Tuesday’s events in The Bronx absolutely take the cake.

Yimi Garcia came into the game in relief of Yusei Kikuchi in the sixth inning and allowed a game-tying home run to Giancarlo Stanton. The next guy up was Josh Donaldson, who got plunked in the back by a fastball from Garcia. The umpires had a meeting and then opted to kick Garica out of the game.

Yimi Garcia ejected for hitting Josh Donaldson in a tie game. Pete Walker also tossed.
Give us your thoughts on this one Jays fans. pic.twitter.com/l2YKexpsGs
— Tim and Friends (@timandfriends) May 11, 2022

After the game, crew chief Alfonso Marquez said the reason that Garcia was booted was because catcher Tyler Heineman and Donaldson were jawing back and forth earlier and they deemed the plunk to be intentional because of that…
“Earlier in the game, there were some words exchanged between Donaldson and Toronto’s catcher, so that definitely played into it. There were pretty strong words.
Then you have a game-tying home run and the second pitch, which we deemed intentional, which was the reason for the ejection. All that really played into it. It had nothing to do with (Donaldson’s) reaction. It had everything to do with the game situations that led up to that specific incident.
Given all the situations up to that specific moment, we just deemed it intentional. And when that happens, we have to eject and/or (give) warnings, but we felt ejection was the way to go.”
Meanwhile, the crew didn’t believe that this 97-mile-per-hour fastball from up high from Jonathan Loaisiga to Bo Bichette the following inning was intentional at all…

Blue Jays wonder why …

Read More

Author: Cam Lewis / Blue Jays Nation

Recommended Posts